Our History

The Taum Sauk Fund was built on a shared vision for improving the quality of life of people adversely impacted by breach of the Taum Sauk Reservoir in 2005.

When settlement moneys became available, community leaders asked Missouri’s Attorney General Jay Nixon to give local citizens the opportunity to invest and direct the use of these assets in a manner that they believed would best benefit their neighbors.

The Taum Sauk Fund, Inc. was incorporated on February 7, 2008 as a tax-exempt non-profit organization. On March 14, 2008 Missouri Attorney General Jay Nixon came to Lesterville to swear in the first nine-member Board of Directors, including:

  • Judith (Judy) Allen, Bunker
  • Henry Balderas, Black
  • Larry Barnes, Ellington
  • Thomas W. Crowell, Arcadia
  • Jim Erpenbach, Ironton
  • Jim Hill, Ellington
  • Kurt Homeyer, Ellington
  • Mary Peterson, Van Buren
  • Paul V. Usher II, Ironton

The Taum Sauk Fund continues its efforts in conjunction with grant recipients and community volunteers to achieve the vision of economic development and travel & tourism development conceived by community and state leaders.